Skip to main content

Privacy Regulations

  • California Consumer Privacy Act – Privacy rights and consumer protection for residents of California.
  • GDPR – The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) (Regulation (EU) 2016/679) is a regulation by which the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union and the European Commission intend to strengthen and unify data protection for all individuals within the European Union (EU).
  • GLBA Compliance – Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (Financial Modernization Act of 1999) – A federal law enacted in the United States to control the ways that financial institutions deal with the private information of individuals.
  • New York Shield Act – New York’s safeguard requirements for protecting “private information” of New York residents and security breach notification requirements.
  • NYCRR 500 – New York State Department of Financial Services places cybersecurity requirements on all covered financial institutions.
  • Privacy Shield – Data protection requirements for transferring personal data from the European Union and Switzerland to the United States in support of transatlantic commerce.
  • IRS 1075 – Guidance for US government agencies and their agents to protect Federal Tax Information.

Cybersecurity Frameworks & Assessments

  • Industrial Physical Security – Security standards that meet the guidelines of ASIS Internationa
  • Business Continuity – Assessment of an organization’s level of preparedness for product and service delivery following an unforeseen disruption.
  • Cloud Security Alliance – Guidance for managing and mitigating the risks associated with the adoption of cloud computing technology.
  • COBIT 5 – Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies – Recommended best practices for governance and control process of information systems and technology.
  • ISO 27001 – International Organization for Standards – Information technology, Security techniques, Information security management systems, Requirements.
  • NIST 800-171 – Guidelines for protecting government controlled unclassified information
  • NIST 800-53 – National Institute of Standards and Technology – Security and Privacy Controls for Federal Information Systems and Organizations.
  • NIST 800-66 – Guidelines for Implementing the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act.
  • NIST CSF (Cyber Security Framework)– Voluntary guidance, based on existing standards, guidelines, and practices, for critical infrastructure organizations to better manage and reduce cybersecurity risk.
  • Project Risk – Assessment of an organization’s Project Management policies and individual projects.
  • Supplement to Authentication in an Internet Banking Environment – A FFIEC guidance supplements the FDIC’s supervisory expectations regarding customer authentication, layered security, and other controls in an increasingly hostile online environment.
  • CIS Critical Security Controls
  • Vendor Risk – Assessment of the level of inherited risk from your third-party vendors/service providers.

Healthcare Regulations

  • California Health & Safety Code 1257.7 – Hospital security and safety assessment.
  • HIPAA, HITECH, & IAHSS – Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (including Omnibus Rule) – ensures equal access to certain health and human services and protects the privacy and security of health information. HITECH Breach Notification – Brings additional compliance standards to healthcare organizations regarding breach notification for unauthorized disclosure of unsecured PHI. IAHSS – International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety.
  • OCR Risk Analysis Final Rule – The Office for Civil Rights (OCR) – Guidance on the provisions in the HIPAA Security Rule.
  • Pharmaceutical Security.
  • Joint Commission – National patient safety goals.

Financial Regulations

FFIEC – Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council – A formal U.S. government interagency body.
CFPB (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau) – Financial Sector compliance for EOCA, EFTA, Fair Lending, HMDA, MLA, RESPA, SAFE, TILA, & TISA.
NCUA – National Credit Union Administration – An independent federal agency created by the United States Congress to regulate, charter, and supervise federal credit unions.


  • Active Shooter – Active Shooter Preparedness
  • AEO (Authorized Economic Operator)– World Customs Organization’s standard to secure global trade.
  • Cash Handling & Processes.
  • Center for Missing and Exploited Children.
  • C-TPAT – The Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (C-TPAT) is a voluntary supply chain security program led by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) focused on improving the security of private companies’ supply chains with respect to terrorism.
  • DEA – Controlled substance storage security.
  • FEMA 426 – Federal Emergency Management Agency – Reference Manual to Mitigate Potential Terrorist Attacks.
  • NATF CIP 014 – Physical security standard for electric power substations.
  • NFPA 1600 – National Fire Protection Association – Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity/Continuity of Operations Programs.
  • OSHA 3148 – Occupational Safety and Health Administration – Guidelines for preventing workplace violence for healthcare and social service workers.
  • PCI DSS – Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards – Information security standard for organizations that handle branded credit cards from the major card schemes.
  • SOX – Sarbanes-Oxley Compliance – Requires that all publicly held companies must establish internal controls and procedures for financial reporting to reduce the possibility of corporate fraud.
  • Wind Farm Security – Critical Infrastructure focused on wind farm facility physical security.
  • Workplace Violence Prevention
  • Any regulation – RSI can add your internal risk and controls matrix into our automated assessment.

Click here to request your assessment